World Cup 2023: England Announce World Cup 2023 Squad, Jofra Archer, Jason Roy Misses Out

    PA Photo/Getty Image

    World Cup 2023: England announce World Cup 2023 Squad: The England Cricket Board (ECB) on Sunday, September 17 announced England’s strong 15-men squad for the ODI World Cup 2023, starting next month in India. Star performers – Jason Roy and Jofra Archer – have missed their chances of making it to the England World Cup 2023 squad.

    Jason Roy, who was preferred in the provisional squad, missed England all four ODI fixtures against New Zealand due to recurring back spasms. Young Harry Brook replaced Jason Roy in the ODI series, but he too couldn’t make the most of the opportunity, losing his wicket under 25 runs in three outings.

    Despite his poor show, England have preferred Harry Brook for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 in India and overlooked the services of experienced Jason Roy.

    In another shocking exclusion, ace pacer Jofra Archer ran out of time to prove his match fitness following multiple instances of injuries. The pacer is likely to travel to India only as a traveling reserve.

    Senior wicketkeeper batter Jos Buttler will spearhead the England side, which saw a return of all-rounder Ben Stokes into the 50-over format. Stokes upon his return stormed into the ODI scene with a stellar 182 off 124 balls – the highest ODI individual score by any England player.

    The pace battery comprises of Reece Topley, Mark Wood, Chris Woakes, Sam Curran, and David Willey. The spin department will get the services from Moeen Ali, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, and Liam Livingstone.

    Dawid Malan topped the run-getters chart during the recently held England vs New Zealand series which helped him cement his place in England’s first playing11 in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023. Malan also plundered his fifth ODI ton in the series.

    Meanwhile, England and New Zealand, the finalists of the 2019 ODI World Cup, will kick off the proceedings of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 in Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium on October 5.

    After concluding the opening fixture, England will play its next three games against Bangladesh, Afghanistan, and South Africa. While New Zealand will lock horns against the Netherlands, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan in its next three fixtures.

    Below is England’s World Cup 2023 Squad, Complete Player List for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023:

    World Cup 2023: England announce World Cup 2023 Squad, Jofra Archer, Jason Roy misses out
    Ben Stokes slammed 124-ball 182 after reversing his ODI retirement against New Zealand | Getty Image

    England World Cup 2023 Squad

    Jos Buttler (c), Dawid Malan, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Jonny Bairstow, Liam Livingstone, Moeen Ali, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Adil Rashid, Chris Woakes, Reece Topley, Mark Wood, David Willey, Gus Atkinson

    ALSO READ: IND vs AUS 2023 Schedule, Fixtures, India Squad, Australia Squad | Australia tour of India 2023

    For more details head to ICC’s official website.

    Source link

    Related articles



    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Share article

    Latest articles


    Subscribe to stay updated.