Padres’ Blake Snell, Yankees’ Gerrit Cole take home Cy Young Awards

    On Wednesday evening the American League and National League Cy Young awards were handed out to their respective winners. After a season full of changes in favor of the hitter, these two pitchers proved that they could still dominate opposing batters no matter the rule set. 

    Here are the Cy Young award recipients in 2023. 

    National League Cy Young Award: Blake Snell, San Diego Padres, pitcher

    2023 stats: 14-9, 2.25 ERA, 1.19 WHIP, 234 SO in 180 innings pitched

    Becoming only the seventh player in MLB history to win both the AL and NL Cy Young Awards, the 30-year-old Snell was dominant on the mound in 2023.

    After a season in which he not only led the MLB in both ERA and H/9, he also led the league in walks allowed. Even with all of the free bases issued by Snell, they rarely came back to hurt him as he was a strikeout machine with opposing hitters unable to make clean contact against him.

    Snell was also lights-out post-All-Star break, going 8-2 with a 1.54 ERA and striking out 102 hitters in 82 innings pitched. 

    Source link

    Related articles



    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Share article

    Latest articles


    Subscribe to stay updated.