New Zealand Cricket announces central contracts for 2024-25 season

    New Zealand Cricket (NZC) has announced its central contract list for the 2024-25 season, with several new faces earning their first international contracts. The 20-player list features a mix of established stars and rising talents, reflecting the depth and diversity of New Zealand’s cricket landscape.

    Rachin Ravindra earns maiden contract

    The standout inclusion is all-rounder Rachin Ravindra, who has been offered his first NZC central contract. Ravindra’s breakthrough year with the national team has been recognised after he emerged as the breakout star of the 2023 ODI World Cup in India, scoring 578 runs.

    The 24-year-old then made his mark on the Test circuit, scoring a maiden century of 240 against South Africa in February—the highest by a New Zealand batter on debut. Ravindra’s rise was further rewarded when he was named the ICC Emerging Player of the Year for 2023 and became the youngest recipient of the Sir Richard Hadlee Medal.

    Ravindra, in a press release from NZC, stated, “Growing up, you’d see those contract lists come out each year and think it would be cool to be on that list one day—and for it to eventuate now is a pinch-myself moment. It’s been a really cool past 12 months playing international cricket. I’ve learned a lot, and the hunger is definitely there to keep improving and giving to the Blackcaps.

    New faces and returning players

    Joining Ravindra as new faces on the contract list are Wellington’s Ben Sears, Canterbury’s Will O’Rourke, and Otago’s Jacob Duffy.  Sears, who played 11 T20Is for New Zealand last season, earned his first central contract after making his Test debut against Australia earlier this year.  O’Rourke’s contract offer comes after he represented New Zealand in all three formats over the past 12 months, including a nine-wicket haul on Test debut against South Africa.

    Duffy receives his first international contract 12 years after making his domestic debut. Ajaz Patel, the left-arm spinner, has also been added to the list after missing out during the previous cycle.

     Notable absentees

    The contract list sees some high-profile omissions, including former captain Kane Williamson, fast bowler Lockie Ferguson, and Adam Milne, who has made himself unavailable for the coming season. Veteran pacer Neil Wagner has also been left out after retiring from international cricket in February.

    Also READ: Kane Williamson steps down from New Zealand captaincy and declines central contract for 2024-25

    Contracted players and salaries

    The 20 players offered central contracts for the 2024-25 season are:

    1. Finn Allen
    2. Tom Blundell
    3. Michael Bracewell
    4. Mark Chapman
    5. Devon Conway
    6. Jacob Duffy
    7. Matt Henry,
    8. Kyle Jamieson
    9. Tom Latham
    10. Daryl Mitchell
    11. Henry Nicholls
    12. Will O’Rourke
    13. Ajaz Patel
    14. Glenn Phillips
    15. Rachin Ravindra
    16. Mitchell Santner
    17. Ben Sears
    18. Ish Sodhi
    19. Tim Southee
    20. Will Young

    While the specific salaries for each player have not been disclosed, NZC’s central contracts typically range from NZ$ 200,000 to NZ$ 600,000 per year, depending on the player’s experience, performance, and role within the national team.

    Also READ: BCCI announces Gautam Gambhir as new India head coach

    Source link

    Related articles



    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Share article

    Latest articles


    Subscribe to stay updated.