BCCI announces India U19 Women’s squad ahead of T20I home series against New Zealand

    Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

    The All-India Women’s Selection Committee officially announced the India U19 Women’s squad for the upcoming home series against the New Zealand U19 side on Sunday, November 20. The two U19 teams are set to cross swords for a five-match T20I series commencing from November 27 till December 6 at the MCA Bandra Kurla Complex Ground in Mumbai.

    Shweta Sehrawat has been picked as the captain by the selectors to lead the side ahead of the series against New Zealand. Shweta was part of India A squad that emerged victorious against India B in the final match of the recently concluded Quadrangular Women’s U19 T20 Series.

    Furthermore, the skipper blasted a 30-ball 43 that included as many as five fours and two maximums in the summit clash. Shweta finished as the highest run-getter in the competition with 164 runs in four matches at an impressive strike rate of 151.85 and will be looking to maintain a similar kind of dominance in the national colours.

    India U19 Women’s squad for 5 T20Is: Shweta Sehrawat (Captain), Shikha Shalot, Trisha G, Soumya Tiwari (VC), Sonia Mehdiya, Hurley Gala, Hrishita Basu (WK), Nandini Kashyap (WK), Sonam Yadav, Mannat Kashyap, Archana Devi, Parshavi Chopra, Titas Sadhu, Falak Naz, Shabnam MD.

    BCCI keen on giving game time to India U19 team prior to the U19 T20 World Cup

    The BCCI is keen on giving the India U19 Women’s team enough game time and the series against New Zealand will be part of the preparation process for the inaugural Women’s U19 World Cup in South Africa from January 14 to 29, next year in 2023. The marquee event was scheduled to be played in 2021, however, it was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

    Undoubtedly, the home series against New Zealand will hand India a significant boost for the T20 World Cup next year. The New Zealand U19 side will also take part in a two-match T20I series against the West Indies U19, scheduled to be played at the D.Y. Patil Stadium, Mumbai on November 22 and 24 just prior to the series against team India.

    Source link

    Related articles



    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Share article

    Latest articles


    Subscribe to stay updated.