Shakib al Hasan returns as Bangladesh announce squad for India ODIs; Mosaddek Hossain dropped

    Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

    The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has announced a 16-member squad for the upcoming ODI series against India. Star all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan, who captained the T20I side at the World Cup recently, returns to the squad after missing Bangladesh’s last white-ball tour to Zimbabwe in July-August this year.

    But the management has dropped middle-order batter Mosaddek Hossain alongside young pacer Shoriful Islam. Both teams are scheduled to play a three-match ODI series, two at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur and one at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram, starting on December 4. Mosaddek, 26, managed to score only 38 runs from five innings in the recent T20 World Cup 2022 and took only two wickets from three innings.

    Shoriful featured in just one game in the World Cup where he conceded 57 runs without a wicket against India. The youngster has taken 19 wickets from 14 ODI innings but his recent inconsistent performances have cost him a place in the squad. Ebadot Hossain has found a place in the squad after making his ODI debut in the third fixture against Zimbabwe in August this year.

    Shakib Al Hasan replaces Taijul Islam

    30-year-old left-arm spinner Taijul Islam’s name missing from the squad came as a surprise, despite him taking 20 wickets from 12 ODI matches. He took three wickets from two innings at an impressive economy rate of 4.31 against Zimbabwe in the last ODI series but Shakib’s return cost him a place in the upcoming series.

    This ODI series is not a part of the ICC World Cup Super League so the management is likely to explore other combinations. Taijul has taken 158 wickets from just 38 Tests and the management will be looking to keep him fresh for the two-match Test series against India starting on December 14. 

    Bangladesh ODI Squad: Tamim Iqbal (Captain), Litton Kumer Das, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury, Nasum Ahmed, Mahmud Ullah, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Quazi Nurul Hasan Sohan

    Source link

    Related articles



    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Share article

    Latest articles


    Subscribe to stay updated.