SL vs AFG: Sri Lanka Cricket Announces Squad For Afghanistan ODI Series; Bhanuka Rajapaksa To Be Released On Request

    Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC), on November 24, 2022, announced the squad for the upcoming three-ODI series against Afghanistan. The three ODIs will be played on November 25, 27, and 30 and will be played in Pallekele as the series will be a part of the ICC ODI Super League 2023.

    The two sides had a disappointing outing in the recently concluded ICC T20 World Cup 2022 crashing out in the Super 12 stage of the competition. The two sides are now gearing for the 50-over format of the sport and will look to overcome the campaign’s failures in the marquee event.

    Speaking about their head-to-head records, Sri Lanka has gotten the better of Afghanistan on three occasions whereas the latter has won the contest just once in their four outings thus far. Their previous meeting was in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 as Sri Lanka won by 34 runs in a rain-curtailed match.

    Image Credits: Twitter

    Dasun Shanaka has been named captain of the team as the focus now shifts towards the 2023 ODI World Cup which will be played in India. Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, and Dhananjaya de Silva have been picked as batters, along with Dinesh Chandimal being included as well.

    Wanindu Hasaranga, Dunith Wellalage and Maheesh Theekshana are the spinners in the team. Kasun Rajitha, Pramod Madushan, Asitha Fernando, and Lahiru Kumara are the fast bowlers in the squad.

    Bhanuka Rajapaksa To Be Released From ODI Squad Upon His Request

    Meanwhile, aggressive batter and occasional keeper, Bhanuka Rajapaksa has requested the Sri Lankan board to release him from the ODI squad as he wants to take a break from 50-over cricket and focus on other things.

    Bhanuka Rajapaksa
    Bhanuka Rajapaksa. (Photo: Twitter)

    “In the meantime, Bhanuka Rajapaksa has requested that Sri Lanka Cricket release him from the current squad, as he wants to take a break from ODI cricket. Accordingly, Rajapaksa will be released from the squad,” the official statement read.

    Sports Minister Roshan Ranasinghe has not yet approved the team, according to Sri Lanka Cricket.

    Sri Lanka squad for Afghanistan ODIs:

    Dasun Shanaka (Captain), Pathum Nissanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Mendis, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dunith Wellalage, Dananjaya Lakshan, Kasun Rajitha, Maheesh Theekshana, Pramod Madushan, Asitha Fernando, Ashen Bandara, Lahiru Kumara, Bhanuka Rajapaksa

    Also Read: IND vs NZ: “He Is Growing, He Is Maturing, It Is Nice To See Him Bowl Like This”- Aakash Chopra on Mohammed Siraj

    Source link

    Related articles



    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Share article

    Latest articles


    Subscribe to stay updated.