RCB vs LSG scorecard, IPL 2024, Match 15 highlights: Mayank Yadav stars again as LSG thrash RCB

    RCB vs LSG highlights: Lucknow Super Giants (LSG), on Tuesday (April 2), thrashed Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) by 28 runs to register their second win in IPL 2024. Set a target of 182 runs, RCB were bowled out for 153 in the final over. Mayank Yadav starred with the ball for LSG, picking up 3 wickets for just 14 runs off his four overs.

    RCB’s chase was off to a steady start with Virat Kohli and Faf du Plessis adding 40 runs before the former’s dismissal opened the floodgates. In the fifth over, M Siddharth dismissed in-form Kohli for 22 to pick up his maiden wicket.

    Two runs later, Devdutt Padikkal came up with a brilliant effort to run out du Plessis before Mayank Yadav dismissed Glenn Maxwell for a duck to reduce RCB to 43 for 3 in the sixth over. In the eighth over, Yadav struck again and castled Cameron Green with a beauty to leave the hosts reeling at 58 for 4.

    Rajat Patidar and Anuj Rawat managed to stop the rot but could not bat their team to a strong position. They added 36 runs in 31 balls before Marcus Stoinis dismissed Rawat for a 21-ball 11. Nine runs later, Yadav picked up his third wicket by dismissing Patidar for 29 to reduce RCB to 103 for 6 in the 15th over. The match was done and dusted by then and RCB eventually finished on 153.

    RCB vs LSG: LSG innings

    Earlier in the game, LSG posted a competitive total of 181 for 5 in 20 overs after Faf du Plessis won the toss and opted to field first. Quinton de Kock top-scored for his side, scoring 81 while Nicholas Pooran provided the finishing touches by scoring an unbeaten 40.

    De Kock and KL Rahul shared a 53-run stand for the opening wicket before the latter was sent back by Glenn Maxwell in the sixth over. Rahul was dismissed for 20 off 14 balls. Soon after Rahul’s dismissal, Devdutt Padikkal endured another failure in IPL 2024 and was dismissed by Mohammed Siraj for just six.

    In Marcus Stoinis, de Kock found an able partner as the two steadied the ship for the Lucknow-based outfit. De Kock completed his fifty off 36 balls in the 12th over as he and Stoinis mixed caution with aggression to keep the scoreboard moving at a decent pace.

    They broke the shackles in the 13th over by collecting 19 runs against Cameron Green with de Kock hitting a six and a four and Stoinis hitting a six. However, before the duo could inflict further damage on RCB, Maxwell struck again to remove Stoinis for 24 in the 14th over and broke the stand that was worth 56 runs.

    The 15th over yielded only 2 runs while de Kock hit two fours in the 16th to collect 10. Reece Topley bowled a brilliant 17th over, conceding only 2 in addition to dismissing the well-set de Kock.  In the 18th over, Yash Dayal conceded only 5 runs and picked up the wicket of Ayush Badoni as well.

    LSG were on 148 for 5 at the end of the 18th over and the 180-run mark was looking like a distant dream. However, Pooran hit as many as five sixes in the last two overs to guide his team to 181. In the 19th over, he hit Topley for two sixes before hitting Mohammed Siraj for two more in the final over.

    RCB vs LSG scorecard:

    RCB vs LSG: LSG innings
    RCB vs LSG
    RCB vs LSG: RCB innings

    Source link

    Related articles



    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Share article

    Latest articles


    Subscribe to stay updated.