NHL announces 2024 King Clancy Memorial Trophy winner

    As the 2024 Stanley Cup playoffs continue, more and more award winners from the 2023-24 NHL season are announced. On Tuesday, the league announced that this year’s winner of the King Clancy Memorial Trophy, an award given to the player who “best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community” would be given to New York Islanders captain Anders Lee.

    Lee is no stranger to making noteworthy humanitarian contributions in his community, as much of his time off the ice has been spent fighting against cancer. In 2017, Lee created a bond with Islanders fan Fenov Pierre-Louis, who unfortunately lost their battle with cancer in the same year.

    Since Pierre-Louis’ death in 2017, Lee has set up the Fenov Scholars Scholarship, annually awarded to a handful of high school students who have aided a peer in their fight against cancer. Outside of the scholarship, Lee regularly hosts cancer victims at Islanders’ home games by giving them tickets and gifts, and participating in a meet-and-greet after the game.

    In honor of the award, the National Hockey League will award Lee a donation of $25K, and subsequently to the charity of his choice. The league will also gift a $20K donation to the Islanders, helping create a special activity for the humanitarian cause of Lee’s choosing.

    Source link

    Related articles



    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Share article

    Latest articles


    Subscribe to stay updated.