Pakistan’s T20 World Cup History from 2007 to 2024: Stats, records, milestones, and more

    Pakistan have reached the T20 World Cup knockout six times in their cricketing history. However, only once they managed to get their hands on the elusive title, under the leadership of Younis Khan in 2009. The Men in Green had a great chance to add one more title under their belt but lost to England by five wickets in the final of the previous edition. 

    The Babar Azam-led 15-member side looks promising with a balanced side that has a mixture of youth and experience. They have travelled to the USA and West Indies for the ninth edition of the World Cup and are one of the contenders to qualify for the finals.

    Let’s take a look at Pakistan’s T20 World Cup history

    T20 World Cup 2007, South Africa

    If India vs Pakistan is the mother of all battles, the T20 World Cup 2007 witnessed the peak of their rivalry. Their first meeting in the premier 20-over tournament was historic, as the winner was decided via Bowl-Out after both teams scored equal runs in the allotted overs. Unfortunately for the he Men in Green, they lost the match by 3-0.

    However, that was their only defeat in the group stage and they stormed into the finals to face arch-rivals India again. Am infamous shot selection from Misbah-ul-Haq ended Pakistan’s dream win as India won by five runs in the final over to clinch the maiden T20 World Cup title. Nevertheless, Misbah was the best batter for Pakistan with 218 runs, while Umar Gul’s 13 wickets was the best effort by a Pakistani bowler.

    T20 World Cup 2009, England

    Pakistan achieved ultimate glory by defeating Sri Lanka by eight wickets in the final. Younis Khan and Co. began the season with a loss to England, but they remained focused. Three wins in the group stage secured them a place in the semi-finals, where they defeated South Africa by seven runs. Kamran Akmal topped the run-scoring list for Pakistan (188 runs) while Umar Gul once again led the bowling attack with 13 wickets.

    Also Read: New Zealand’s T20 World Cup History from 2007 to 2024: Stats, records, milestones, and more

    T20 World Cup 2010, West Indies 

    Pakistan advanced to the knockout stage three times in a row but were eliminated in the semi-finals this time around as Australia handed them a heartbreaking three-wicket defeat in the second semifinal in a last-over thriller. Despite losing three matches and winning only two in the group stage, the defending champions managed to enter the knockout stage. Their top scorer was Salman Butt with 223 runs, including two fifties while spinner Saeed Ajmal topped the wicket-takers list with 11 scalps.

    T20 World Cup 2012, Sri Lanka

    Pakistan had a dominant group-stage campaign, winning four matches and losing only to India. However, their momentum was halted by hosts Sri Lanka in the first semi-final, where Mohammad Hafeez and Co. lost by 16 runs. The captain himself led the batting unit from the front with 164 runs while Saeed Ajmal led the bowling attack with nine wickets.

    T20 World Cup 2014, Bangladesh

    After enjoying four fruitful campaigns, Pakistan failed to qualify for the semi-finals for the first time in the 2014 World Cup. Pakistan started the campaign with a seven-wicket defeat against arch-rivals India. They managed to register only two wins and finished the group stage (Group 2) in third place. Ahmed Shehzad was the top-scorer with 138 runs and right-arm pacer Umar Gul was the leading wicket-taker with 6 scalps.

    Also Read: Australia’s T20 World Cup History from 2007 to 2024: Stats, records, milestones, and more

    T20 World Cup 2016, India

    Pakistan came to their neighbouring country with the aim of putting up a remarkable show. But it was one of the worst World Cup campaigns in their history as the Shahid Afridi-led side managed to win just one match in the group stage. Sharjeel Khan scored 112 runs while Mohammad Sami and Shahid Afridi took four wickets.

    T20 World Cup 2021, India/UAE  

    After two poor outings, Pakistan qualified for the semi-finals in the 2021 edition. This time, the Men in Green got their revenge against India as they opened the campaign with a massive 10-wicket win over Virat Kohli’s side. With five wins and 10 points, Babar Azam and his men topped the Group 2 points table. However, they suffered a five-wicket loss to Australia in the second semi-final. Babar was the tournament’s top scorer with 303 runs, while spin all-rounder Shadab Khan was the top bowler for Pakistan with nine wickets.

    T20 World Cup 2022, Australia

    A masterclass from Virat Kohli prevented Pakistan from getting off to a positive start in the 2022 edition. The former India captain singlehandedly pulled off a four-wicket win for India with his magical 82* at the MCG. However, that did not take away the confidence of Babar Azam and company, who stormed into the finals for the first time since 2009.

    An underwhelming batting performance in the summit clash against England dashed Pakistan’s hope of claiming their second title. Shan Masood and Mohammad Rizwan scored 175 runs to finish as Pakistan’s top scorers, while Shaheen Shah Afridi and Shadab Khan took 11 wickets each to lead the wicket-takers list.

    Pakistan squad for the 2024 T20 World Cup

    Babar Azam (captain), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Khan


    Source link

    Related articles



    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Share article

    Latest articles


    Subscribe to stay updated.