Umpiring blunder mars classic French Open final

    An egregious umpiring call may have cost Alexander Zverev the French Open title on Sunday.

    During the deciding fifth set, Zverev surrendered an early break to Carlos Alcaraz but was on the verge of getting his break back to tie the set at 2-2. When Alcaraz was down 40-15, he nearly double-faulted with a second serve that was called out, but the chair umpire overturned the call. Subsequently, Alcaraz would hold serve to take a commanding 3-1 lead in the fifth set and ultimately prevail with the victory. 

    It was later revealed, via Hawk-Eye technology, that the chair umpire made the wrong call, costing Zverev the chance to tie the fifth set. When the call was overturned in real time, Zverev pleaded with the umpire to get a better look before pronouncing his verdict, but to no avail. 

    Source link

    Related articles



    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Share article

    Latest articles


    Subscribe to stay updated.